Women in Biotech - Transatlantic

WiB 2020 rebrand 380 X 214 WEB BANNER .jpg Houses of parliament image from unsplash chris-leipelt-wmWDwIP1EVI-unsplash.jpg

Wednesday 10 March 2021

In celebration of International Women's Day on 8 March we are delighted to bring you the first transatlantic Women in Biotech event, which we are running in partnership with the US-based organisation Women In Bio.

With our charity partner of the year, Ovarian Cancer Action, we are supporting Ovarian Cancer Awareness month at this Women in Biotech event. Cary Wakefield, CEO of Ovarian Cancer Action, will join us to give a few words at the start of the event. Additionally, we will be donating £10 per ticket sold for the event to Ovarian Cancer Action. 

Laying the foundations for growth through investment in diversity

Whilst VCs in life sciences continue to put management teams that are ‘proven’ or known to them in place rather than backing diverse ones, later investment rounds will demand a broader, more diverse set of thinking to which companies need to adapt in order to attract more mature capital.

We’ll discuss these challenges with a panel representing a range of different investment stages – from both investor and leadership perspectives - taking in points of view from both sides of the Atlantic and encouraging an interactive discussion around best practice and how we can affect change, asking “how do we encourage investors to back female led/founded companies and diverse leadership teams from company inception?”.

Join us for the inaugural transatlantic Women in Biotech - extend your networks globally, catch up with familiar faces, and help us to make a difference.

Using an interactive virtual platform, everyone will be able to move from virtual table to table similar to at an in-person event. Bring your favourite drink (as best suits your time of day) and join us for this fantastic event with engaging online networking.

Please contact [email protected] if you have any questions or problems registering for the event.

Agenda

16:00 GMT / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST  -  Event platform opens
16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST  -  Welcome and introductions
                                                                           Jane Wall, Director of Business Development and Membership Services, BIA
                                                                           Sally Shorthose, Partner, Bird & Bird
                                                                           Lisa Iadicicco, Executive Director, Women In Bio
                                                                           Cary Wakefield, CEO, Ovarian Cancer Action
16:45 GMT / 11:45 EST / 08:45 PST  -  Panel discussion and Q&A
                                                                     
    Chair: Karl Simpson, CEO, Liftstream 
                                                                     
    Ros Deegan, CEO, OMass Therapeutics
                                                                          Jackie Grant, Principal, Abingworth
                                                                          Julie Grant, General Partner, Canaan
                                                                          Annalisa Jenkins, NED
                                                                          Uciane Scarlett, Principal,Oxford Sciences Innovation
17:45 GMT / 12:45 EST / 09:45 PST  -  Closing remarks
17:50 GMT / 12:50 EST / 09:50 PST  -  Networking at the virtual tables
19:00 GMT / 14:00 EST / 11:00 PST  -  Event closes

Virtual format
Table view and floorplan - wib on remo 2.jpg WiB sept 2020 - speakers on remo


You will be able to join us online to network and, similar to an in-person event, move from virtual table to table to mingle with other attendees. The platform we will be using also includes useful features which will allow you to message directly with other attendees and share LinkedIn details to connect. There is also a general chat for all attendees.

During the panel discussion you will be able to submit and vote on audience questions and we will try our best to cover everything in the time allocated.

What are the technical requirements to attend the virtual event?

  • There is no software installation or download required.
  • Please attend using a laptop or desktop computer with audio and video capabilities (webcam and microphone). 
  • You will need to use one of the supported browsers to have the best user experience: Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.
  • If you want to check the technical requirements in more detail, you can view their checklist here.

If your company has firewalls or browsing restrictions in place, please test your connection and liaise with your IT team in advance to ensure you are able to fully participate in the event.

Costs & T&Cs

BIA members* - £23 +VAT              (approx. 31 USD + 20% tax**)
Non-members - £35 +VAT              (approx. 47 USD + 20% tax**)

*Women in Bio (WIB) members are eligible to receive this same discounted rate, please contact [email protected] for the discount code.
**Tickets for this event are are sold in GBP. Cost in US dollars may vary depending on exchange rate at time of purchase.

Please note that American Express cards are not accepted for payment. 

By registering to this event you accept our Terms & Conditions

If you have any questions or problems registering, please contact [email protected] 

Joining instructions will be sent out to event attendees the week prior to the event.

To find our more about BIA membership, please click here.

Women In Bio (WIB)
WIB_logo_png_43.png


Women In Bio was established in 2002 to help women entrepreneurs and executives in the Baltimore-Washington-Northern Virginia area build successful bioscience-related businesses.

The founders of WIB: Cynthia W. Hu, Robbie Melton, Anne Mathias, and Elizabeth Grey wanted to provide a forum for women to come together to celebrate and support each other's success, and in so doing created a dynamic and invaluable forum for the local community.  

The mission of WIB expanded several years later, with a vision to grow it to an organization with a national footprint that would impact the careers of women in all sectors of the life sciences industry. 

That vision has now become a reality, as we have 13 chapters throughout North America, led by more than 225 volunteers and a membership base of over 2,600. Thousands of women attend WIB events each year, and continue to grow the organization through their ideas, activities and donations.

Thanks to its founders and past presidents, WIB has become a community that represents one of the fastest growing and most influential organizations for women in life sciences.

Ovarian Cancer Action
Ovarian small.png

The BioIndustry Association (BIA) is proud to be working with Ovarian Cancer Action as its charity partner for 2021. 

One woman dies in the UK from ovarian cancer every two hours and although five-year survival rates for ovarian cancer are improving, other cancers, such as breast cancer, had better survival rates two generations ago than ovarian cancer does today.

Since 2006, Ovarian Cancer Action has funded £12.3 million of scientific research projects to accelerate progress in three main areas: preventing the disease, diagnosing it early, and developing effective, personalised treatments. They have opened the Ovarian Cancer Action Research Centre (OCARC), Europe’s first ever centre dedicated to ovarian cancer research and they continue to run HHMT International Forum on Ovarian Cancer, which has been bringing together the world’s leading scientists to determine research priorities around the globe since 1987.

Find out more at: www.ovarian.org and on Twitter @OvarianCancerUK. 

We are supporting Ovarian Cancer Awareness month at this Women in Biotech event. Cary Wakefield, CEO of Ovarian Cancer Action, will join us to give a few words at the start of the event. Additionally, we will be donating £10 per ticket sold for the event to Ovarian Cancer Action.

Speakers

Ros Deegan

Ros Deegan

CEO, OMass Therapeutics

Jackie Grant

Jackie Grant

Principal, Abingworth

Julie Grant

Julie Grant

General Partner, Canaan

Lisa Iadicicco

Lisa Iadicicco

Executive Director, Women In Bio

Annalisa Jenkins

Annalisa Jenkins

Non Executive Director

Uciane Scarlett

Uciane Scarlett

Principal, Oxford Sciences Innovation

Sally Shorthose

Sally Shorthose

Partner, Bird & Bird

Karl Simpson

Karl Simpson

CEO, Liftstream

Cary Wakefield

Cary Wakefield

CEO, Ovarian Cancer Action


Thank you to our Women in Biotech series supporter

BIRD&BIRD_POS_LOGO_CMYK_ORANGE.png

 

Thank you to our event partners 

Women in Bio logo.png Liftstream logo_CMYK (2).png

 

BIA Annual Supporters