Women in Biotech and Women In Bio team up for our 2nd Transatlantic event!

WiB 2020 rebrand 380 X 214 WEB BANNER .jpg Houses of parliament image from unsplash chris-leipelt-wmWDwIP1EVI-unsplash.jpg

Joining and Building Diverse Start-up Boards for Success

Thursday 4 November 2021 | 4PM - 7.30PM GMT

Following our fantastic inaugural Transatlantic Women in Biotech event in March, we are working with the fabulous Women In Bio to serve up another incredible opportunity to network, share experience and be inspired by a top selection of speakers and participants from Europe and the States.

This event will focus on Start-Up Board leadership for women – both from the perspectives of women seeking to gain Board experience – and conversely – Start-Ups looking to build a diverse Board. It will therefore be of interest both to seasoned life science leaders looking to expand their experience into Board roles, and to early stage leaders looking for advice on how they can find and attract the Board members they need to help take them to the next stage of development and beyond.

This event will be held online on the Remo platform.

Agenda

16:00 GMT / 12:00 EST / 09:00 PST      Platform opens for networking

16:20 GMT / 12:20 EST / 09:20 PST      Welcome
                                                                              Georgia Attwood, Life Sci Advisors
                                                                              Lisa Iadicicco, Women in Bio
                                                                              Jane Wall, BIA

16:30 GMT / 12:30 EST / 09:30 PST      Panel: advice for experienced women looking to get onto Start-Up boards
                                                                              Dimitra Georganopoulou, 3.8 initiative (Chair)
                                                                              Shahila Christie, Portal Innovations
                                                                              Angela James, Macrogenics Inc.
                                                                              Barbara Domayne-Hayman, Francis Crick Institute
                                                                              Ruth McKernan CBE, Astronautx

17:15 GMT / 13:15 EST / 10:15 PST      Networking break

17:30 GMT / 13:30 EST / 10:30 PST      Panel: advice for Start-Ups on building diverse boards
                                                                              Claire Button, Fusion Biomed (Chair)
                                                                              Anna Lisa Somera, Rhaeos
                                                                              Caralynn Collens, Dimension Inx
                                                                              Charlotte Casebourne, Theolytics

18:15 GMT / 14:15 EST / 11:15 PST     Networking

19:30 GMT / 15:30 EST / 12:30 PST     Close

Costs

BIA members* - £23 +VAT              (approx. 31 USD + 20% tax**)
Non-members - £35 +VAT              (approx. 47 USD + 20% tax**)

*Women in Bio (WIB) members are eligible to receive this same discounted rate, please contact [email protected] for the discount code.
**Tickets for this event are sold in GBP. Cost in US dollars may vary depending on exchange rate at time of purchase.

Please note that American Express cards are not accepted for payment. 

Women In Bio (WIB)
WIB_logo_png_43.png


Women In Bio was established in 2002 to help women entrepreneurs and executives in the Baltimore-Washington-Northern Virginia area build successful bioscience-related businesses.

The founders of WIB: Cynthia W. Hu, Robbie Melton, Anne Mathias, and Elizabeth Grey wanted to provide a forum for women to come together to celebrate and support each other's success, and in so doing created a dynamic and invaluable forum for the local community.  

The mission of WIB expanded several years later, with a vision to grow it to an organization with a national footprint that would impact the careers of women in all sectors of the life sciences industry. 

That vision has now become a reality, as we have 13 chapters throughout North America, led by more than 225 volunteers and a membership base of over 2,600. Thousands of women attend WIB events each year, and continue to grow the organization through their ideas, activities and donations.

Thanks to its founders and past presidents, WIB has become a community that represents one of the fastest growing and most influential organizations for women in life sciences.

Virtual format

 

Table view and floorplan - wib on remo 2.jpg WiB sept 2020 - speakers on remo


You will be able to join us online to network and, similar to an in-person event, move from virtual table to table to mingle with other attendees. The platform we will be using also includes useful features which will allow you to message directly with other attendees and share LinkedIn details to connect. There is also a general chat for all attendees.

During the panel discussion you will be able to submit and vote on audience questions and we will try our best to cover everything in the time allocated.

What are the technical requirements to attend the virtual event?

  • There is no software installation or download required.
  • Please attend using a laptop or desktop computer with audio and video capabilities (webcam and microphone). 
  • You will need to use one of the supported browsers to have the best user experience: Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

If your company has firewalls or browsing restrictions in place, please test your connection and liaise with your IT team in advance to ensure you are able to fully participate in the event.

Speakers

Georgia Attwood

Georgia Attwood

Managing Director of Business Development, LifeSci Advisors

Claire Button

Claire Button

Founder and CEO, FUSION Biomed

Charlotte Casebourne

Charlotte Casebourne

CEO, Theolytics

Caralynn Collens

Caralynn Collens

CEO, Dimension Inx

Dr Shahila Christie

Dr Shahila Christie

VP, Growth Operations, Portal Innovations

Barbara Domayne-Hayman

Barbara Domayne-Hayman

Entrepreneur-in-residence, Francis Crick Institute; CBO, Autifony Therapeutics Ltd, Francis Crick Institute

 Dimitra Georganopoulou

Dimitra Georganopoulou

Co Founder, 3.8 initiative

Lisa Iadicicco

Lisa Iadicicco

Executive Director, Women In Bio

Dr Angela James

Dr Angela James

Vice President, Head of Clinical Pharmacology, MacroGenics, Inc.

Dr Ruth McKernan

Dr Ruth McKernan

Chair, Astronautx

Anna Lisa Somera

Anna Lisa Somera

CEO, Rhaeos

Jane Wall

Jane Wall

Director of Business Development and Membership Services

 

Thank you to our event partners 

Women in Bio logo.png
 

Thank you to our event supporters 

LifeSci advisors.png